USPGA Championship Betting

Vegas Odds PGA Championship 2018

The PGA Championship, which was established in 1916, is golf’s final major in the pursuit of the Grand Slam. It’s played in August, three weeks before Labor Day weekend.

The tournament has been held at a large number of venues, but it has shifted to a small group of celebrated courses, each of which has also hosted several other leading events.

Jack Nicklaus and Walter Hagen have won the Wanamaker Trophy a record five times each.

Vegas Odds PGA Championship 2018

No one wants to take on the NFL. Not even the PGA Championship.

The fourth and final major of the season will move from its longtime scheduled spot in August to May in 2019 in an effort to avoid competition from the gridiron gladiators and their top TV ratings.

The PGA of America, which hosts the championship, says that a late May date will give the organization a chance to bring the tournament to courses in Texas and the Carolinas and some other states that seldom see major championship golf.

The PGA Championship returns to Bellerive Country Club for the 2018 edition. Nick Price won the title in 1992 at the St. Louis, Missouri, course by three strokes with a six-under-par total of 278.

Justin Thomas won his first PGA Championship and his first major when he beat three other golfers last year by two shots at Quail Hollow in Charlotte, N.C. The 24-year-old American from Louisville, Ky., returns this year among the favorites on the betting boards at +1600 (odds provided by Bovada).

As has been the case in the other three majors this year, Dustin Johnson, Jordan Spieth and Rory McIlroy are the posted favorites at +1000. McIlroy is a two-time winner (2012, 2014) of this event, while Spieth and Johnson have been shut out. It is the only major Spieth needs to complete the career Grand Slam.

Hideki Matsuyama and Rickie Fowler join Thomas at +1600, while four-time winner Tiger Woods is slotted in at +2500. Jason Day, +1800, and Jon Rahm, +2000, are also among the favorites.

PGA Championship Las Vegas Betting Tips

Woods is the only player to win two PGA Championships on the same course.

In 1999, Woods won his first PGA when he went shot-for-shot with a 19-year-old sensation named Sergio Garcia. Tiger edged Sergio by a shot at Medinah in Illinois. Seven years later in 2006, Woods did it again at Medinah, this time winning by five shots over Shaun Micheel.

This will be the first visit to Bellerive for Woods and the rest of the field as the tournament returns to the St. Louis course for the first time in 26 years.  

Other former champions expected in the field include Thomas (2017), Jimmy Walker (2016), Jason Day (2015), McIlroy (2012, 2014) and Jason Dufner (2013).

The PGA Championship is the only major that does not explicitly invite leading amateurs to compete in the tournament and the only one that reserves a large number of places — 20 of the 156 starting spots — for club professionals.

A club pro has never won the PGA, and no club pro has made the cut since 2011.

      Top Betting Sites

      Here are three betting sites you can't go wrong with. Safe, secure, reliable, and featuring deposit bonus offers!